The Kula Flow

The Kula Flow is a slow vinyasa based sequence with an emphasis on mindfulness, breath, meditation, and alignment. 

Useful Links: Curriculum  -  200 HR Syllabus  -  300 HR Syllabus - 300 HR Module-Based Syllabus

Vinyasa means to intellectually place or arrange in a special way. We make sure our students have a solid foundation and understanding of the poses with equal importance on the transition from one posture to another.

We understand that the physical practice is a vehicle to the mental and emotional work that comes up and helps us to reflect on how we move through our lives; encouraging fluidity and awareness. When we align the body, we can easily access the alignment of the mind and spirit. 

Since vinyasa is not derived from any one lineage, as a collective we have come up with a creative sequence rooted in multiple traditions. The Kula Flow is has roots in Ashtanga, Sivananda, Kundalini, Hatha, and Iyengar. The intention of the flow is to give students an opportunity to access the stillness of the mind, preparing the body for meditation; the foundation of Yoga. 

It is important to us that the practice has an intention based on yogic philosophy that can be weaved throughout the class while still giving students space in their practice to explore any resistance that may surface so that they can ultimately find lightness in their bodies and their mind.

We dive deep into the 4 traditional paths of Yoga, which are… 

1. Bhakti - Devotion

We open with a chant in order to center our selves and invoke energy to assist us as we flow through our practice. 

2. Jnana - Knowledge

We utilize relevent themes to help lift the veil of who we are not, in order to reveal who we are… our truest, highest Self.

3. Raja - eight Fold Path

A systematic approach to Yoga that emphasizes the benefits of meditation for spiritual self-realization and the purposeful evolution of consciousness.

4. Karma - Selfless Service

Offering a dedication to that which is greater than you so you may be guided to flow into harmony with the Oneness of being.

5628_genevievelocas 23_1500x1000.jpg

The Kula Flow is a philosophical journey through the Eight limbs of yoga inspired by the teachings of the ancient sage Patanjali. Sutra literally means to thread, so you will experience this weaving of these important concepts throughout the class, leaving you with a better sense of your Self. 

The eight limbs include ... 

1. Yamas - Social ethics and guidelines (external)

2. Niyamas - Observances (internal)

3. Asana - sitting comfortably with Self

4. Pranayama - letting the breath flow with intention and ease 

5. Pratyahara - Withdrawal of senses 

6. Dharana - Concentration

7. Dhyana - Meditation

8. Samadhi - Transcendance

The Kula Flow provides an experience to look inward and fulfill our Soul’s purpose. It encourages us to find contentment in the present moment. When in the flow we recognize that there is nowhere we need to be, there is nowhere we need to go. This moment is entirely perfect, exactly as it is. We invite you to come practice with us, so that we can begin the process of stilling the mind in order to remember who we are and why we are here.